Select Page

Category: Uncategorized

Half Baked: Administration Committee Fast Tracks Marijuana Referendum

On June 18, 2018, the Administration Committee of the St. Croix County Board voted to recommend placing a non-binding referendum item seeking public opinion on the legalization of Marijuana onto the November election ballot. This significant action was taken after a total of just over four minutes of discussion, and without gathering additional input or feedback from any other County departments, such as the Sheriff’s office or District Attorney, or from any of the other standing committees such as Public Safety or Health and Human Services. The text of the proposed referendum question, along with supporting background information, is...

Read More

County Board Incumbents Terrified by Election Competition

County Supervisors for all 19 districts in the County are elected every two years.  All 19 seats are on the ballot in the upcoming Spring election on April 3rd.  Of the 19 seats, competitions have developed for 15 of them, with 4 running unopposed.  The unopposed incumbent Supervisors are: Andy Brinkman – District 14, Paulette Anderson – District 16, Judy Achterhof – District 17, and Shaela Leibfried – District 18.   The remaining incumbent Supervisors will all need to present their cases to voters in order to remain in office.  The challengers will have to also present their cases...

Read More

California Liberal Heading for Vacant District 7 Board Seat

In April, Laurie Bergren, Supervisor of district 7 in Hudson, announced that she would be moving out of the district, and vacating her seat on the County Board effective May 04, 2017.  Under the current rules, the Board Chair Roger Larson is responsible for identifying and appointing a suitable candidate within 60 days. The appointee is then approved by a majority vote of the full Board at the regular monthly meeting.  Candidates must live in the district where the vacancy exists. The search initially yielded two candidates, Ms. Tammy Moothedan, and Ms. Sarah Yacoub.  In the event of multiple candidates forwarded by the Chair for consideration, an election is held, with sitting Board members voting.  Once approved, the appointed candidate will serve until the April 2018 spring election. Ms. Moothedan recently withdrew  her name from consideration, leaving Sarah Yacoub as the only candidate under consideration.  Only a “no” vote from a majority of the current board could cause the search to continue. Ms. Yacoub, a liberal Democrat,  ran against Mike Nieskes in a contentious race for the St. Croix County District Attorney position in 2016.  Despite her filing a complaint with the State’s Elections and Ethics Commission alleging election corruption in the DA’s office, Mr. Nieskes won the election by a significant margin. Sarah spent six years as a Deputy District Attorney in Los Angeles County, CA, prior to relocating and entering private practice...

Read More